Spring Break! Kinda

This week was our second and final long weekend.  This means that this week we had class Monday to Wednesday only, instead of Monday to Thursday.  On Monday, I met with my Meet-A-Family, Tuesday went to London, and Wednesday went to Paris for the weekend!

I’ve been consistently going to my Meet-A-Family’s house for dinner about once a week.  It’s crazy to think that I will only see them 2 more times! The semester has really flown by.

On Tuesday, I went to the Ismaili Center in London for Navroz to celebrate the Muslim new year.  It was really cool to see the difference in the rituals and ceremonies between the U.S. and the UK.

On Wednesday, we left for Paris via the Chunnel (train that goes under the English Channel) into France. We arrived to our hostel in Paris and decided to go see the Eiffel Tower at night.  It is ridiculous how big and beautiful it is.  Truly breathtaking.  When it began to sparkle like it does every hour, I could not believe where I was.  I have this constant thought of being “just a kid from Texas”, whenever I go travel places.  This was definitely one of those moments.  We had crepes and just sat admiring the tower that night. A surreal moment.

 

Thursday, we left got on our Hop On, Hop Off bus and saw pretty much the whole city.  Seeing the Eiffel Tour, Notre Dame, and the other palaces, bridges, museums, and areas of Paris was amazing. We also went to the Lourve where we only got to spend 2 ½ hours; which is definitely not enough.  But I did see some of the works that I really wanted to see.  We also went to the Arc de Triumph and saw some fantastic views of the city.

On Thursday, Meg and I had made reservation for a Michelin Star restaurant called Au Trou Gascon.  It was absolutely amazing!  One of the best meals of my life. From smoked salmon, mackerel, monkfish, and everything else. You know the food is going to be good when the chef’s name is on the menu!

On Friday I took a trip to Disneyland Paris with Catie and Hannah.  This day was so great, it deserves a blog post of its own.

Saturday, a lot of the kids on the school trip took a trip to Versailles.  If I had to describe Versailles in one word, it would be ‘Extravagant’.  The gardens were so big and great.  All the busts of people and paintings on the ceilings, the walls, the architecture and all of it were great!

After Versailles, we went and had a fantastic steak dinner with crème brulee.  From there, we went to the Eiffel Tour one last time and crepes.  It was a great way to end our trip.

Paris was one of my favorite cities, and 3 or 4 days is not enough to explore the city.  I will be returning there in the future for sure!

Stay tuned for the Disneyland blog post later this week, probably Wednesday.  I will be staying on campus at the manor for the rest of the weekends, other than London one weekend.  Also this coming Wednesday I will be going to the Harry Potter Studio tour in London!

Until next week,

Afsar

Leave a Reply

