The Final Hours

3 more days here at Harlaxton.  I don’t want to think about leaving, so I’m just going to not think about it until I’m on the bus to the airport.  Currently sitting in the Junior Common room with a bunch of friends, brothers, playing FIFA, and talking about sports.  It’s these moments that I will miss the most.

I’m not going to get sentimental about Harlaxton or the semester until the next blog.

On Monday this week, we went our Meet-A-Family’s house for last time.  It was definitely a sad moment, but I got to see them on Tuesday, Thursday, and am going to see them again next Tuesday of next week.  It’s been a great semester with them, and Alyssa, Morgan, and I are just trying to prolong our goodbyes.

Tuesday, we had a Meet-A-Family reception where the choir and “orchestra” performed.  I was really impressed by how well the choir did.  Given that they had limited practiced, I am consistently blown away by the talent that surrounds me in this manor.

On Wednesday, I went to Nottingham with Kenzie and Catie to see The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.  The play was phenomenal and was the second-best play I’ve ever seen.  I’m debating on whether or not I want to read the book this summer.

Thursday was the valedictory convocation.  A formal goodbye from the faculty and staff.  Here we found out who won the house competition.  Unfortunately, Gregory, my house, got second place.  After the dinner, everyone went the Bistro because it was the last night it was open for the semester.

This Friday there were lambs at the manor.  The cutest little lambs, and one of them was born just the day before.  Time flew by Friday spending time with my friends, and before I knew it, I was watching Fantastic Beasts at night.

Yesterday, Saturday, we all went out into Grantham for one final time.  A very large portion of the school was out in the town.  It was cool being able to go out with all these guys one more time.

Today was spent doing RA room checks, watching movies, watching the NBA playoffs, and spending quality time with these beautiful people.  It’s going to be tough leaving them, but again, I’m not thinking about it (or trying not to).

Until next week,

Afsar

Leave a Reply

